I’m still alive (and in Ecuador!)

Wow, I haven’t posted in a while mainly due to a series of unfortunate events including my cell phone being stolen but no one wants to read about bad things so how about the good things that have happened the past two weeks:

  1. I graduated college – how exciting! When I get back from Ecuador, I’ll be able to apply for my Indiana teaching license, but you probably won’t see me teaching in a conventional classroom anytime soon. I’m not sure what I want to do as of right now but I’ve learned to never say never so stay tuned …
  2. I got to visit with a friend from forever ago, Luke Miller, who went to St. Jude’s for elementary school with me. When our host family asked us how long we’d been friends it kind of felt crazy saying “since we were 5 or 6 years old!” What are the chances that we’d both pick to come to Ecuador and be here at the same time – cheers to a lifetime of being able to reminisce on one of the best experiences of my life with someone I’ve known almost my whole life. I visited his family on his last day here in Ecuador, and it made me way more sad than I expected it to because I really, REALLY don’t want to leave. On a side note, his family works at the school that he student taught at and invited me to come see it – so hoping those plans fall into place here soon!
  3. We lost our second basketball game (I know this isn’t really a good thing) but it was more like football (yes, American Football) than basketball and because I don’t speak Spanish it was a very, very frustrating game. I’ve learned to not play a contact sport without legit refs.
  4. The beach was GORGEOUS! Oh. My. Stars. I can’t explain how beautiful it was.
  5. I learned how to dance! Funny that I used to teach dance, but there was classes at the resort to learn how to dance Salsa, Bachata and others that go with Latin music. Speaking of Latin Music – I’m obsessed. I can’t help but want to dance when I hear it and even though I don’t usually know the words, I want to sing along. (Sorry in advance to my friends and family when I get home.)
  6. ‘Ya girl has peanut butter! My host family has never had it before (I’m sure you’re just as shocked as me) so I have had them try it with apples and on bread – they liked both!
  7. God bless my host family for treating me just like one of their own. They took me out to karaoke and dance last night because they knew I needed to have some fun and get my mind off things (as if living in Ecuador isn’t fun enough!).
  8. Today, the cheerleading team that I’m helping coach (or trying to help coach because it’s so hard to coach in a different language) won 1st place at our competition! The music stopped in the middle of the routine for no reason and the girls didn’t miss a beat – even finished the dance sassier than I’ve ever seen them! #proudcoach
  9. I’ve successfully taught my family and friends here how to play the card games Garbage and Speed (shoutout to my sisters for asking me to play all the time – mainly Jenna).
  10. I explored downtown Historic Quito some more and got to see La Basilica. Since I don’t have a phone, I used my friend’s to take pictures – hopefully I’ll have them soon and can post them because I’ll never be able to put into words the magnificence of the giant stained glass windows or the elaborate details on every inch of the churches here.

That’s all I’ve got for now. I’m still loving it here and I’m already looking at when I could come back (hoping it’s sooner than later!).

Leave a Reply

