Pause

It’s gonna, gonna, gonna, gonnnnnaaaaa….it’s gonna be MAY!…I mean June – what?

Wait, where did May go? Seriously not sure how it flew by so fast. I feel like I was just trying to explain the meme with Justin Timberlake that everyone posts the day before May 1st to my family and today, during my first class, I wrote June 1st on the board.

I haven’t really been keeping a countdown of how many days I have left (partially because I don’t want to know) because I was too lazy to do the math of adding different months together, but now it’s easier.

I have 15 days left….

15 days.

I wish I could press pause for the next 2 weeks.

For about a week now, I’ve been extremely congested and constantly blowing my nose. It’s got me worn out as usually translating all day has my brain exhausted but right now it feels like 3,000 lbs and I’m still translating constantly and all I want to do is sleep! However, when I think about how much time I have left – I all of a sudden have energy to do everything people ask me to do!

Monday night after cheer practice, I went to hang out with some friends because, apparently, I NEEDED to try ice cream with cheese on it. I told them it was okay, we didn’t need to go (mainly because I’m slightly lactose intolerant so I felt like this was going to be a double whammy) but they insisted. I was picturing a scoop of ice cream with a spoonful of some white queso from Cebolla’s drizzled on top – but it was actually some sort of white shredded cheese. I’d give it a 4/10 – not the worst thing ever, but next time, I’ll forgo the cheese on top. Later that night, I ate fried pig intestines which earn an 8/10 – surprisingly yummy! My friends (and family confirmed when I got home) that it’s good for your stomach. Not sure they’re being honest with me, I might’ve got the translation messed up, but I liked it!

One thing about Ecuador is that they don’t waste ANY part of the animals. Soup has eye balls in it; it’s common to eat the chicken talons; and they fry pig intestines. I’m sure there’s more examples, but I think you get the point.

Tuesday was a day I’ve needed. I would describe myself as a people person, but I definitely enjoy being independent and doing things on my time. On Tuesday, I was able to sleep in and then my dad and I had breakfast together: watermelon, apples with peanut butter, bread and TWO CUPS of coffee (praise Jesus #blessed). After, I got dressed, journaled a bit and then my dad and I left for a day on the town! We took the motorcycle (my family, like most, only has one car) and I can’t tell you much I enjoyed it. I’ve seen the route we took numerous times in the car, but on the motorcycle, it seemed completely new. Everything was so bright; I noticed stores and buildings I have never noticed before; the mountains were bigger; and I was happier.

We visited some small artesian markets like in Otavalo, but in Quito everything was much more expensive. I finally bought a flag of Ecuador. I visited the public library and La Compania (a church that is completed decorated in gold – talk about beautiful, but you’re not allowed to take pictures).

GUESS WHAT!!!! THERE ARE MASTODON FOSSILS IN ECUADOR! Literally never, ever expected that. #MastodonProud #GoBlue #IPFW (Whoops, I mean “PFW”)

Tuesday after we ate lunch and went home, the sun was shining bright so I took a yoga mat to the roof and started working on some homework. It’s days like this that I’m going to miss the most.

Today is El Dia de Nino which I thought was like a student appreciation day, but it is celebrated throughout the city of Quito – possibly all of Ecuador. (Hey Mom, if you feel like spoiling me for no reason other than I’m your favorite daughter – today’s the day to do it!) My students all had parties most of the day, so I’d say today was a good day – which is a poor adjective to use to describe how much I enjoy my time here. I came home to candy from my dad and we got i  ce cream (which puts me at a 3/4 days with coconut ice creams ratio this week) Pretty much every day since April 12th, 2017 has been a good day.

As much as I don’t want to leave Ecuador, I’ve started a list of things I’m looking forward to in the States. I’ve always been one to look for the silver lining or the positives, so this is my coping method of having to leave.

…15 days.

Leave a Reply

