June 15th, 2017

It’s almost midnight, I’m not packed, I leave in 24 hours…..and I’m crying.

Honestly, where has the time gone? I remember finishing packing for this trip, going over the important documents I needed in my carry on, downloading all the pictures on my phone so I had enough room for memories of Ecuador and staying up until about 2am the night before my flight to Ecuador.

The only time I cried on the way to Ecuador was when I got on the final flight from Dallas to Quito. It wasn’t so much sadness but more of a fear of the unknown.

Since a week ago, I’ve cried a lot. Don’t know when exactly I turned into such a cry baby, but here I am. Maybe it’s because I’ve always had passion. For example, in cheerleading no matter what was going on in the game, I would still cheer my heart out simply because I love cheering. In this instance, I love all the connections I’ve made in Ecuador and there for I’ve got a burning passion for this country and all it has to offer. It truly has everything you could want in a landmass the size of Nevada – pretty awesome if you ask me.

On Friday night, I had dinner with family and not only was the food DELICIOUS but everyone had such amazing things to say about me – this was my first hard cry of Ecuador. Afterwards, I shared some words and surprisingly through the tears, was able to say nearly everything I wanted in Spanish and my family understood. I know my family has had other student teachers like me, but I can’t help but think we have a special connection.

My students made me cry today when they were all so excited to see me after school and I’m sure tomorrow is going to be the same. I’m not planning on wearing makeup for this reason.

I said before I was making a list of things I’m looking forward to in the US because I like to look for the positives and so far this is what I’ve got:

1. Trenta Starbuck’s black iced coffee

2. Fabric softener

3. Buying a planner

I’m not ready to go, I’m not sure I’ll ever be. However, at least I have a second home now and I cannot wait to come back.

 

 

Leave a Reply

